Queens

When I was in NY I would walk up the street to Hillside Ave. from my aunts house and take the bus to school every day. I would have to buy tokens down at the train station every couple of weeks. I think it was $1 a ride which added up if you think twice a day and 5 times a week. The bus driver used to get a kick out of the fact that I would pay everyday. The other kids had passes because they lived in the area which was Floral Park. I lived in a different part of Queens (Hollis) but I was using another address to be able to attend Martin Van Buren High School. The reason for this was because the school I was supposed to attend was in Jamaica, Queens, I rougher part of town so to speak.
I had my walkman with me and I would go to school and get there early. I would walk in the auditorium and listen to music while I waited for that first bell. Depeche Mode, INXS. some of the bands whose music I would listen to. I have good memories of this time.
Leave a Reply

